First blog post

Hello World.

I  am currently working on up-skilling into the field of Data Science from an experimental physics reasearch background. There is a lot of overlap between the two fields: in physics a model is developed by considering the fundamental forces of nature and then this is tested by measuring some data and seeing how the two compare. In data science, the modelling process is not wholly thought up and performed by people, rather, machine learning is used in this step. Both of these fields require a human to oversee the modelling process to ensure that statistically significant predictions can be generated. This is the step that I enjoy the most: processing and analysing data and modelling techniques to ensure high quality predictions can be made.

In this blog, I will post a few of the personal projects I have been working on in my spare time. Some will be succesful and others may not be because sometimes we learn more from constant failure than instant success.

I am currently working on a stock analysis neural network code (based on the python scikit-learn package) and hope to have a post up about it soon. I’m calling it ShareBrained.

Leave a comment